DEI Committee

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee

The DEI Committee currently comprises 14 members from four countries, spanning all areas of NISO’s work — libraries, publishers, research infrastructure, services providers, and other representatives of the information community — plus two NISO staff. They are charged with championing NISO’s DEI Policy to help achieve the organization’s goal of social justice in all its activities, including establishing priorities, identifying assessment criteria, and regularly monitoring and reporting on progress. The Committee will also serve as a resource to the NISO community, providing guidance on DEI issues and advocating for under-represented groups.


  • Maria Stanton, Atla (USA) — Chair


  • Apurva Ashok, Rebus Foundation (Canada)
  • Karim Boughida, University of Rhode Island Libraries (USA)
  • Camille Callison, (member of the Tahltan Nation), University of Manitoba (Canada)
  • Ben Fiore-Walker, American Chemical Society (USA)
  • Gregory Grazevich, Modern Language Association (USA)
  • Cindy Hohl, American Indian Library Association/Kansas City Public Library (USA)
  • Lorin Jackson, Swarthmore College (USA)
  • Rebecca McLeod,Harvard Data Science Review (USA)
  • Gabi Mejias, ORCID (Germany)
  • Rhonda Ross, Chemical Abstracting Service (USA)
  • Gabi Rundle, Emerald Publishing (UK)
  • Wayne Strickland, National Technical Information Service (USA)
  • Tony Zanders, Skilltype (USA)

NISO Staff

  • Todd Carpenter, Executive Director
  • Alice Meadows, Director of Community Engagement