NISO Awards and Scholarships

As a not-for-profit membership organization, we rely on the support of our community, which we are happy to recognize, in part, through a number of awards. And, as part of our commitment to ensuring that our community is as diverse, equitable, and inclusive as possible, we also offer annual scholarships to cover the cost of attending NISO Plus for some of those who would otherwise be unable to participate.

Miles Conrad Award

Miles Conrad was the founder of the National Federation of Abstracting and Indexing Services (NFAIS), and this award was established in 1965, in his memory. During the 1960s, Conrad encouraged NFAIS members — scholarly societies and government agencies — to work collaboratively in support of the space exploration program, in order to enhance the speed with which scientific knowledge could be disseminated, discovered, and acted upon. In the years that followed, NFAIS expanded its cross-disciplinary membership and played an important role in the development of online information services and resources, before merging with National Information Standards Organization (NISO) in 2019. NISO’s vision, of a world where all can benefit from the unfettered exchange of information, reflects the aims of both organizations; in awarding this prize, we are proud to continue recognizing the contributions of those whose lifetime achievements have moved our community forward.

Miles Conrad Award recipients

Ann Marie Cunningham Service Award

The Ann Marie Cunningham Service award was established in 1994 to honor NFAIS members who routinely went above and beyond the normal call of duty to serve the organization. It is named after Ann Marie Cunningham who, while working with abstracting and information services such as Biological Abstracts and the Institute for Scientific Information (both now part of NISO-member Clarivate Analytics), worked tirelessly as an dedicated NFAIS volunteer. She ultimately served as the NFAIS Executive Director  from 1991 to 1994 when she died unexpectedly. NISO is pleased to continue to present this award to honor NISO volunteers who have shown the same sort of commitment to serving our organization.

2020 Awardees: Peter Murray (Index Data) and Christine Stohn (Ex Libris)

Honorary Fellows

Starting in 1983, NFAIS honored individuals who made significant contributions to NFAIS, and subsequently retired from the information services field, by granting them a lifetime membership of the organization. NISO has also occasionally recognized individuals who have made significant contributions to our organization by honoring them in this way, and will continue to do so.

2020 Honorary Fellow: Bruce Rosenblum (Inera)

NISO Plus Scholarships

Following the merger of NFAIS with NISO, the NISO Plus conference launched in 2020 to build on the success of the former NFAIS annual meeting. As part of NISO’s commitment to inclusion, we offer a number of scholarships for those whose voices are typically excluded from conversations in the information community, and who would otherwise be unable to participate in our conference. Successful applicants receive full conference registration, economy travel/airfare, three nights accommodation in the conference hotel, and a stipend for local travel and meals while traveling. We currently offer two types of scholarship:

  • Equity & Diversity scholarships are for anyone who feels that they are under-represented in libraries, vendors, publishers, or other parts of the information ecosystem. This includes all aspects of diversity – we want to encourage and hear from information professionals who can provide different perspectives from the voices we traditionally hear from in our community

  • Early Career scholarships are open to individuals who have been working in the information profession for five years or less. They are intended to help connect, train, and encourage the next generation of information professionals, whose perspectives and opinions will help shape the future of information creation, organization, retrieval, and access

NISO Plus scholarship recipients