Announcing the NISO Board of Directors 2022-23

The National Information Standards Organization (NISO) is pleased to announce the results of its recent Board elections for the term beginning July 1, 2022. Maria Stanton (Director of Production, Atla) will transition to the role of Chair of the NISO Board, having served as Vice Chair for the past year. She is replaced as Vice Chair by Karim Boughida 

(Dean of University Libraries, University of Rhode Island) who will assume the role of Chair for 2023-24 next July. Mary Sauer-Games (Vice President, Product Management, OCLC, Inc.) rotates to the position of Past Chair, having served as NISO Chair for 2021-22. 

NISO Voting Members have also elected five new Directors: Ryan Bernier (Vice President, Database Partnerships, EBSCO - second term); Angela Ecklund (Senior Thesaurus Editor, MLA); Patti Ginnis (Vice President of Product Management, Clarivate); Alison Mudditt (Chief Executive Officer, PLOS); and Rhonda Ross (Marketing Programs Management, CAS, a Division of the American Chemical Society - second term). They will serve on the Board for a three-year term from July 1, 2022 to June 30, 2025.

Four current members are rotating off the Board, with our thanks and appreciation for their service: Allan Lu (Vice President, Product Management, Medical Research, Wolters Kluwer); Wendy Queen (Director, Project MUSE, Johns Hopkins University Press/Sheridan Libraries of Johns Hopkins University); Chris Shillum (Executive Director, ORCID); and former Chair Peter Simon (Vice President, Product Management, NewsBank, Inc.).

Full information about the current NISO Board can be found at This page will be updated on July 1 to reflect the new Board.

"It’s an honor to be serving as NISO Chair for the next year," said Maria Stanton. “The organization’s current three-year strategic plan is coming to an end, and I look forward to reviewing our progress with the Board and staff, and to developing our goals for the next three years. Diversity, equity, inclusion, and accessibility are increasingly important to NISO’s work; we will continue to identify and prioritize concrete actions that the organization can take to effect real change." 

Karim Boughida added, "As Co-Chair of the DEIA Committee, I share Maria’s passion for continuing to drive NISO’s work in this area—and I’m excited for this opportunity to support the important work NISO is doing more generally to drive standards development and adoption globally."

“We were privileged to once again have a very strong group of candidates in this year’s election for the NISO Board of Directors, from across the information community. From these the NISO Voting Members have selected an amazing group to help lead us for the next three years,” noted Todd Carpenter, NISO’s Executive Director. “I’m delighted to welcome our new Board members, and look forward to working with them and the whole Board as we continue to evolve our organization to better understand and meet the changing needs of our community.”  


Todd Carpenter

Executive Director
Todd Carpenter joined NISO as Executive Director in September 2006. ...