Recognizing our Community in 2020: NISO Awards and Scholarships

As a not-for-profit membership organization, we rely on the support of our wonderful community of volunteers. Both NFAIS and NISO have a history of recognizing those volunteers, which we are happy to be not just continuing following the merger of our two organizations, but also expanding. The inaugural NISO Plus conference provided the perfect opportunity to both celebrate the contributions of some of our most dedicated volunteers, and to welcome our first cohort of NISO Plus scholars, who we hope will continue to be closely involved with our organization in the coming years.

Please join us in congratulating and thanking this year’s winners:

  • James G Neal, University Librarian Emeritus at Columbia University, received the 2020 Miles Conrad Award for his lifetime achievements and contributions to the information community

  • Bruce Rosenblum, Vice President of Content and Workflow Solutions at Inera, was made a lifetime Fellow of NISO in recognition of his significant contributions to NISO

  • Peter Murray, Open Source Community Advocate at Index Data, and Christine Stohn, Senior Product Manager for Discovery and Delivery at Ex Libris (ProQuest), received the Ann Marie Cunningham Service Award for their commitment to serving our organization

  • NISO Plus Early Career scholarships, to support those with five years or less experience of working in the information community, were awarded to:

  • NISO Plus Equity & Diversity scholarships, to support those who can provide different perspectives from the voices we traditionally hear from in our community, were awarded to:

You can learn more about NISO awards and scholarships on our new awards web page.