ALA Announces First Members of New Policy Corps

American Library Association President Jim Neal today announced the first cohort for the newly launched ALA Policy Corps, news that was also covered in Publishers Weekly. The 12-member group includes NISO Executive Director Todd Carpenter.

In the announcement, Neal explained that, “The past year has brought sweeping changes and challenges to policies that ALA has advocated for, from net neutrality to federal library funding to privacy protections. It is imperative that information professionals have a voice, not only in defending, but in shaping national policies that impact our patrons, our profession and our nation. This first cohort exemplifies diversity from across library types and geography, as well as a breadth of policy expertise and passion that represents our profession.”

The group includes the following members:

  • Hannah Buckland, Director of Library Services, Leech Lake Tribal College, Minn.
  • Todd Carpenter, Executive Director, National Information Standards Organization, Md.
  • Nicolle Davies, Executive Director, Charleston County Public Library, S.C.
  • Ann Ewbank, Associate Professor of School Library Media, Montana State University Department of Education, Mont.
  • Samantha Hines, Associate Dean of Instructional Resources, Peninsula College, Wash.
  • Qiana Johnson, Collection & Organizational Data Analysis Librarian, Northwestern University Libraries, Ill.
  • Candice Mack, Senior Librarian/Manager, Systemwide Teen Services, Los Angeles Public Library, Calif.
  • Jenna Nemec-Loise, Head Librarian, North Shore Country Day School, Ill.
  • Hallie Rich, Communications & External Relations Director, Cuyahoga County Public Library, Ohio
  • Deborah Rinio, Secretary, Alaska Association of School Librarians, Ala.
  • Lisa Varga, Executive Director, Virginia Library Association, Va.
  • Lance Werner, Director, Kent District Library, Mich.