Home | Workrooms | Metasearch Initiative | Search/Retrieve

Metasearch Initiative - TG3 - Search/Retrieve

Standards Committee BC

Co-chairs: Katherine Kott , Stanford University Meyer Library

Sara Randall , Endeavor Information Systems     

NISO SDC liaison: Patricia Stevens , NISO

http://www.lib.ncsu.edu/niso-mi

Charge

The interdependent nature of search-retrieval protocols and techniques demands that the investigation of one be done in the context of the other. Task Group 3 will investigate and report on several related aspects of search and retrieval to produce a series of documents including:

  • A description of the current practice in Metasearching search and retrieval
  • Defining a standard vocabulary and terms
  • Defining a template for exchange of search and retrieval functionality
  • Inventorying proprietary XML interfaces and best practices for Metasearch search and retrieval
  • Recommend the data elements to describe a Result Set and a record within a Result Set
  • Review SRW/SRU and recommend modifications for use as the basis of a Metasearch search and retrieval standard.

Status

Visit the Task Group's WIKI to follow activities and review working copies of documents. For final versions of documents, visit the Metasearch Initiative official webpage


Members

Ray Denenberg

  Library of Congress
ND/MSO LM 642
Washington , DC 20540 USA
Phone: 202-707-5795 Fax: 202-707-0115
Email: rden@loc.gov

Dana Dietz

  OCLC, Inc.
6565 Frantz Road (MC 136)
Dublin , OH 43017
Phone: 800-848-5878 ext. 5064 Fax: 614-718-7501
Email: dietzd@oclc.org

Susan Fariss

  National Library of Medicine
Bethesda , MD 20895 USA
Phone: 301-435-7102
Email: farisss@mail.nim.nih.gov

Riccardo Ferrante

  Smithsonian Institution Archives
900 Jefferson Drive, NW
Washington , DC 20013 USA
Phone: 202-357-1421 x56 Fax: 202-357-2395 (fax)
Email: FerranteR@si.edu

Matthew Goldner

  OCLC Online Computer Library Center
6565 Frantz Road
Dublin , OH 43017
Phone: 614-764-6000 Fax: -
Email: goldnerm@oclc.org

Renny Guida

  Thomson Scientific
3501 Market Street
Philadelphia , PA 19104 USA
Phone: 215-386-0100, x1561
Email: reynold.guida@thomson.com

Sebastian Hammer

  Index Data
46 South Lincoln St
Keene , NH 03431
Phone: 603-209-6853 Fax: 603-357-1813
Email: hammer@indexdata.com

Katherine Kott Chairperson

  Stanford University Meyer Library
Meyer Library
Stanford , CA 94305 USA
Phone: 650-723-2454
Email: kkott@stanford.edu

Marc Krellenstein

  Elsevier
200 Wheeler Road
Burlington , MA 01803 USA
Phone: 617-438-0273
Email: m.krellenstein@elsevier.com

Ralph LeVan

  OCLC, Inc.
6565 Frantz Road
Dublin , OH 43017
Phone: 614-764-6115
Email: levan@oclc.org

John Little

  Duke University
Box 90203
Durham , NC 27208
Phone: 919-660-5932
Email: john.little@duke.edu

Mike McKenna

  California Digital Library
415 20th St., 4th Floor
Oakland , CA 94612 USA
Phone: 510-987-9655
Email: Michael.McKenna@ucop.edu

Ron Miller

  The H.W. Wilson Company
950 University Avenue
Bronx , NY 10452
Phone: 718-588-8400, x2743
Email: miller@hwwilson.com

William Mischo

  University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
1301 W. Springfield Avenue
Urbana , IL 61801
Phone: 217-244-7764
Email: w-mischo@uiuc.edu

Peter Noerr

  MuseGlobal, Inc.
425 Market Street
Suite 2200
San Francisco , CA 94105
Phone: 415-896-6873 Fax: 415-896-6870
Email: pnoerr@museglobal.com

Oliver Pesch

  EBSCO Information Services
P O Box 1943
Birmingham , AL 35201
Phone: 205-991-6600 Fax: 205-995-1518
Email: opesch@ebsco.com

Sara Randall Chairperson

  Endeavor Information Systems
1350 E. Touhy Ave.
Suite 200 East
Des Plaines , IL 60018-4505
Phone: 847-227-2968 Fax: 847-296-5636
Email: sara.randall@endinfosys.com

Chris Roberts

  Ex Libris (USA), Inc.
100 Galen Street
Watertown , MA 02472
Phone: 617-923-0160
Email: chris.roberts@exlibris-usa.com

Simona Rollinson

  Follett Software Co.
1391 Corporate Drive
McHenry , IL 60050
Phone: 815-578-7266
Email: srollinson@fsc.follett.com

Robert Sanderson

  University of Liverpool
Liverpool UK

Email: azaroth@liverpool.ac.uk

Patricia Stevens NISO SDC Liaison

  NISO
4733 Bethesda Avenue
Suite 300
Bethesda , MD 20814 USA
Phone: 301-654-2512 Fax: 301-654-1721
Email: pstevens@niso.org

David Yakimischak

 

Email: david@davidyak.com

Johan Zeeman

  Research Libraries Group
2029 Stierlin Court, Suite 100
Mountain View , CA 94041
Phone: 650-962-9951
Email: johan_zeeman@notes.rlg.org

Candy Zemon

  Polaris Library Systems
4116 Elkhart Lake Rd.
St. Charles , MO 63304
Phone: 636-922-0555 Fax: 636-447-3232
Email: candy.zemon@polarislibrary.com