Home | Workrooms | Metasearch Initiative | Collection Description

Metasearch Initiative - TG2 - Collection Description

Standards Committee BB

Chair: Juha Hakala , Helsinki University Library     

NISO SDC liaison: Patricia Stevens , NISO

http://www.lib.ncsu.edu/niso-mi

Charge

Content providers (publishers, database providers) must be able to communicate information about the collections they offer in a uniform way. Task Group 2 on Collection Description is working with other organizations examining this problem to produce:

  • A list of data elements needed to describe a collection;
  • A document containing guidelines for maintaining and exchanging collection information;
  • Recommendations on further steps needed, including development of best practices, implementation guidelines and formal standards.

Status

Visit the Task Group's WIKI to follow activities and review working copies of documents. For final versions of documents, visit the Metasearch Initiative official webpage


Members

Grace Agnew

  Rutgers University Libraries
47 Davidson Road
Piscataway , NJ 08854 USA
Phone: 732-445-5908
Email: gagnew@rci.rutgers.edu

Kristina Aston

  National Archives of Canada
334 Wellington St., Rm. 1034
Ottawa , ONTARIO K1A ON3 CANADA
Phone: 613-995-7539
Email: kaston@archives.ca

Patricia Brennan

  Thomson Scientific
3501 Market Street
Philadelphia , PA 19104 USA
Phone: 215-386-0100 x1683
Email: patricia.brennan@thomson.com

Mary Bushing

  Library Consultant and Educator
2121 S. Tracy Avenue
Bozeman , MT 59715 USA
Phone: 406-587-4742
Email: marying@msn.com

Robina Clayphan

  The British Library
Boston Spa, Wetherby
W Yorks UK
Phone: 441 937 54586
Email: robina.clayphan@bl.uk

Larry Dixson

  Library of Congress
101 Independence Ave
Washington , DC 20540 USA
Phone: 202-707-5807
Email: ldix@loc.gov

Emily Fayen

  MuseGlobal. Inc.
56 Commonwealth Avenue
Boston , MA 02116
Phone: 617-867-9990
Email: emily@museglobal.com

Juha Hakala Chairperson

  Helsinki University Library
POB 26
00014 Helsinki Univsity
Helsinki FINLAND
Phone: +3589 191 44293 Fax: +3589 753 9514
Email: juha.hakala@helsinki.fi

Pete Johnston

  UKOLN, University of Bath
Bath BA2 7AY UK
Phone: 44 (0) 1225 383619
Email: p.johnston@ukoln.ac.uk

Anne Karle-Zenith

  Michigan State University
100 Library
East Lansing , MI 48824 USA
Phone: 517-432-6123
Email: annekz@mail.lib.msu.edu

Vicki Miller

  OCLC, Inc.
6565 Frantz Road
Dublin , OH 43017 USA
Phone: 614-718-7400
Email: millerv@oclc.org

Julie Blume Nye

  Fretwell-Downing, Inc.
44 Justin Court
Durham , NC 27705
Phone: 919-971-2696 Fax: 919-309-0512
Email: julie.nye@fdusa.com

Judith Pearce

  National Library of Australia
Australia

Email: jpearce@nla.gov.au

Juliane Schneider

  NYU School of Medicine
Ehrman Medical Library
New York , NY USA
Phone: 212-263-8935
Email: schnej04@library.med.nyu.edu

Sarah Shreeves

  University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
Urbana , IL 61801 USA
Phone: 217-244-7809
Email: sshreeve@uiuc.edu

Patricia Stevens NISO SDC Liaison

  NISO
4733 Bethesda Avenue
Suite 300
Bethesda , MD 20814 USA
Phone: 301-654-2512 Fax: 301-654-1721
Email: pstevens@niso.org

Chuck Thomas

  Florida State University Libraries
105 Dogwood Way
Tallahassee , FL 32306 USA
Phone: 850-644-3053
Email: cthomas@fsu.edu

Terry Willan

  Talis Information Ltd
Knights Court, Solihull Parkway
Birmingham Business Park
Birmingham B37 7YB UK
Phone: +44 870 400 5000 Fax: +44 870 400 5001
Email: terry.willan@talis.com

Maja Zumer

  National Library of Slovenia
University of Ljubljana
1000 Ljubljana
Slovenia
Phone: +386 1 2411374
Email: maja.zumer@nuk.uni-lj.si

Theo van Veen

  National Library of the Netherlands
Koninklijke Bibliotheek
Netherlands
Phone: 31703140658
Email: theo.vanveen@kb.nl