Home | News & Events | Events | NISO Past Events | Past Events | Linkage from Citations to Journal Literature (Second Workshop)

Linkage Workshop

SECOND WORKSHOP ON LINKAGE FROM CITATIONS
TO ELECTRONIC JOURNAL LITERATURE



DATE: Wednesday, June 9, 1999
TIME: 9:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.
PLACE: The Westin Copley Place
10 Huntington Avenue
Boston, MA


ABOUT THE WORKSHOP

The second invitational workshop on reference linking will be held on June 9, 1999 from 9:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. at the Westin Copley Place in Boston in conjunction with the annual conference of the Society of Scholarly Publishers. The agenda of the June workshop will focus on the report of the Reference Linking Working Group, and issues arising from the report such as scenarios for implementing standard reference linking systems, ways of dealing with the so-called Harvard problem, and ways to shape an environment that can accommodate a variety of reference linking models, including those that depend on lookup databases as well as those that depend on "calculable" identifiers. The Working Group met as scheduled on April 20 and has drafted a report which is circulating among the group members and will be available to the members of this list early next week, almost 3 weeks ahead of schedule. The final agenda for the workshop will depend in large part on the issues raised on this list in response to the Working Group report.

Top of Page


WORKSHOP AGENDA


This is a preliminary agenda for the second DLF/NISO invitational workshop on reference linking which will be held on June 9, 1999 from 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. at the Westin Copley Place in Boston.

9:00 - 9:10 Welcome and introductions (Don Waters)
9:10 - 9:40 Presentation and discussion of report of the small working group - http://www.lib.uchicago.edu/Annex/pcaplan/reflink.html (Bill Arms)
9:40 - 10:40 Panel reaction (Larry Lannom, Jim Ostell, Eric Hellman)
10:40 - 11:00 Break
11:00 - 11:30 Open discussion of report and issues raised by panel reaction
11:30 - 12:30 Reference linking scenarios (Bill Arms)
12:30 - 1:30 Lunch
1:30 - 2:00 Update on using the DOI in reference linking (David Sidman)
2:00 - 2:30 Linking in a wider context: SFX-links (Herbert van de Sompel)
2:30 - 3:00 Wrapup and next steps (Don Waters)

The report from the first workshop on reference linking is available here.

D-Lib Magazine is interested in publishing a white paper on reference linking based on this workshop series. Anyone interested in writing such an article should contact William Arms (wya@cs.cornell.edu).


WORKSHOP REGISTRATION

There are a limited number of 60 seats available in the workshop. We will be able to accommodate all those who attended the first workshop in February; however, attendees of the first workshop must register again for the June workshop. Remaining seats will be available on a first-come, first-served basis.

If you wish to attend, please register no later than Thursday, May 13, 1999. Notify Jane Thomson at the National Information Standards Organization at jthomson@niso.org.

Top of Page


REGISTERED PARTICIPANTS

Bill Arms (wya@acm.org)
Ed Barnas (ebarnas@cup.org)
Deb Bendig (deb_bendig@oclc.org)
Wendy Bucci (wab@ams.org)
Priscilla Caplan (p-caplan@uchicago.edu)
David Case (davidc@chadwyck.com)
Jim Drier (jdrier@ovid.com)
Guenther Eichorn, Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory
Dale Flecker (dale_flecker@harvard.edu)
Linda Goldberg, Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
Rebecca Graham (rgraham@clir.org)
Gerry Grenier, Wiley
Pat Harris (pharris@niso.org)
Eric Hellman (eric@openly.com)
Barbara Herzog (barbarah@silverplatter.com)
Simon Inger (singer@catchword.com)
Bill Jordan (bjordan@uwashington.edu)
Richard T. Kaser (kaser@nfais.org)
Carl Lagoze (kaser@nfais.org)
Larry Lannom, CNRI
Carol Meyer, Knowledgecite
Rick Newman (rnewman@isinet.com)
Jim Ostell (ostell@ncbi.nlm.nih.gov)
Evan Owens (eowens@journals.uchicago.edu)
Mary Grace Palumbo (mgpalumbo@eiq.com)
Oliver Pesch (opesch@epexchange.epnet.com)
Adam Philippidis (aphilipp@ieee.org)
Kathleen Sheedy (ksheedy@apa.org)
Chris Shillum (c.shillum@sciencedirect.com)
David Sidman (dsidman@wiley.com)
Albert Simmonds (awsimmo@ibm.net)
Herbert Van de Sompel (hvds@lanl.gov)
Don Waters (dwaters@clir.org)
Ralph Youngen (r_youngen@acs.org)

Top of Page